Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Rajshahi Royals squeeze past Khulna Tigers and clinch BPL title 
BPL Final

Rajshahi Royals squeeze past Khulna Tigers and clinch BPL title 

Rajshahi Royals edged out Khulna Tigers by 21 runs and won the BPL title.

Batting first, Royals teed off in the death overs and the match-winning partnership of 71 between Andre Russell and Mohammad Nawaz helped champions put up 170 on the board.

Mohammad Amir, representing Tigers, snapped up two wickets and leaked 35 runs in his spell while Shahidul Islam bowled the most economical spell and returned figures of 1/23 in four overs.

Bowling all-rounder Nawaz changed the complexion of the high-octane affair when he came out to bat and hared to 41 off a mere 20 deliveries.

He then used his subtle variations with the ball in hand to ensnare set batsman Rilee Rossouw on 37. Thereafter, Russell followed suit and got the lethal blow of Bangladesh former captain and a very pugnacious batsman, Mushfiqur Rahim, at a stage when the asking rate wasn't out of reach. Things went downhill after 17th over.

Khulna stumbled early in their chase. They were reeling at 11 for 2 inside powerplay but then a major rebuilding work from Rossouw and Shamsur Rahman put them back on course until paceman Kamrul Islam dismissed him off a loosener pitched wide of off and he scythed it straight to the man at cover.

Kamrul steamed in after getting the wicket and through a spirited spell of bowling induced another false shot from Najibullah Zadran.

Earlier, Rajshahi innings went through similar ebbs and flows. Liton Das and Irfan Sukkur got to flying start in the powerplay.

Sukkur continued to dominate the proceedings beyond the 10 over mark and scored a magnificent half-century to set the platform for the likes of Nawaz and Russell to go for the aerial route and they exactly did that.