Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Hasan Mahmud, Tamim Iqbal added to Bangladesh squad for Pakistan T20Is
Bangladesh squad

Hasan Mahmud, Tamim Iqbal added to Bangladesh squad for Pakistan T20Is

Bangladesh on Saturday included uncapped fast bowler Hasan Mahmud for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan.

Opener Tamim Iqbal also makes a comeback to the squad after skipping Afghanistan, Zimbabwe and India series.

"Hasan is a quick bowler and has a good future. So we thought maybe this is the right time to give him a break," said Bangladesh Cricket Board's chief selector Minhajul Abedin.

It was also confirmed by a senior BCB official that batting coach Neil McKenzie, spin bowling coach Daniel Vettori and fielding coach Rayan Cook would not be a part of the touring side.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim was not inducted as he had decided to opt out of the Pakistan tour following security concerns.

"I decided it a long time ago and informed the board. I have submitted a letter too. My family is concerned, and don't want me to go," Mushfiqur told reporters.

He also decided against getting his name in the PSL drafts after it was announced by the PCB that the entire tournament would be staged in Pakistan.

"There's no bigger sin for me than not playing for Bangladesh. But I had refused an offer to play in the PSL after finding out that the tournament will be entirely held in Pakistan," he said.

"I agree that things have improved in Pakistan, but I will gain confidence when I see teams going there for the next two years. I have been to Pakistan before, it is a great place to play cricket."

Mushfiqur's absence will leave a massive void in the Bangladesh batting as star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is absent from the squad following his one-year ban.

Bangladesh will tour Pakistan in three installments. They will play three T20Is in Lahore from January 24-27 before heading back home. They will head to Pakistan once again for the first Test starting February 7 and then return back for one-off ODI (April 3) and second Test (April 5) after the conclusion of Pakistan Super League.

Bangladesh squad

Mahmudullah (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Nazmul Hossain, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Afif Hossain, Mahadi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain and Hasan Mahmud.