Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Saqib Mahmood drafted in T20 squad for injured Jofra Archer
England News

Saqib Mahmood drafted in T20 squad for injured Jofra Archer

An elbow injury has ruled Jofra Archer out of the three-match T20I series against South Africa, the England and Wales Cricket Board announced on Wednesday.

Archer was able to represent England in only one game during the four-Test series, picking up five wickets at Centurion where the Proteas claimed a 107-run win.

A sore right elbow then kept him out of the following two games after which he aggravated his injury in the warm-up sessions ahead of the final match at Johannesburg.

The Sussex quick has headed back to the UK in an attempt to recover full fitness before England's next international assignment in March.

The 24-year-old World Cup winner's workload has been a much-heated topic of debate with several former players of the opinion that Archer has often been overused by Test skipper Joe Root.

His unavailability for the T20I leg of the South Africa tour provides another opportunity for his replacement Saqib Mahmood, who will be extending his stay in the country since he was already part of the ODI lineup.

The Lancashire paceman made his T20I debut last year in November against New Zealand, though he is yet to appear for the national side in 50-over cricket.

Mahmood was a touch expensive across the three games he played in New Zealand, giving away runs at a steep economy rate of 11.50.

22-year-old Mahmood will be joined by the Curran brothers, Chris Jordan, Pat Brown and Mark Wood in England's pace bowling attack for the T20I series scheduled to commence on February 12.

The preceding ODI contests, England's first taste of the 50-over format since they beat New Zealand in the World Cup final, will begin on February 4.

T20I squad

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood