Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Bismah Maroof, Javeria Khan, Diana Baig earn promotion in women's central contract list
Pakistan News

Bismah Maroof, Javeria Khan, Diana Baig earn promotion in women's central contract list

Bismah Maroof, Javeria Khan and Diana Baig have been rewarded for their consistent performances with a promotion in the new central contract list announced by the PCB.

The lucrative contracts see a significant increment of 33 percent in the monthly retainers for Category A players while cricketers belonging to Category B and C will receive a raise of 30 and 25 percent respectively.

Despite this monetary increase in the contracts aimed at enhancing the profile of women's cricket in the country, the total number of contracts has been reduced to nine from 17 two years ago.

Nevertheless, the PCB has declared its commitment to boosting the state of domestic women's cricket by doubling the match fee and event prize money and increasing daily allowances by 50 percent.

Meanwhile, the PCB has decided against renewing the contract of head coach Iqbal Imam, who will resume his duties at the high performance centre. The next coach of Pakistan women's team will be selected through a robust recruitment process.

In the leadership set-up, Bismah has managed to retain her spot as the side's captain for the 2020-21 season whereas Javeria will continue to serve as her deputy. Earlier this year during the Women's T20 World Cup, Javeria was appointed Pakistan's stand-in skipper for a couple of games after Bismah was ruled out of the tournament due to a thumb injury.

“Bismah and Javeria have been promoted to Category A, following leading performances with the bat in the last year. Over the last one year, Bismah scored 213 runs at an average of 42.60 in five ODIs and 236 at 39.33 in T20Is, while Javeria was the highest run-getter for Pakistan in T20Is with 260 runs including three half-centuries," said Urooj Mumtaz, Pakistan's women's chief selector.

“I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Bismah Maroof on retaining her leadership role in both ODI and T20 formats for the upcoming season. She has been a phenomenal performer and has risen to the occasion whenever the situation demanded."

“Diana Baig has been promoted to Category B and she joins Aliya Riaz and Sidra Nawaz – both of whom have been retained in this category – as she topped the T20I bowling charts for Pakistan in the last 12 months. Leading the pace bowling attack she has shown tremendous improvement with control over the ball along with being an exceptional fielder," she added.

Veteran all-rounder Nida Dar has experienced a demotion in the central contract list following a "below-par" season, though she became the first Pakistani cricketer to play in the Women's Big Bash League in 2019.

"Nida Dar sees a demotion following her below-par international season. However, she remains an integral member and I am confident in her ability and hope she will bounce back with strong performances," Mumtaz stated.

Left-arm spinner Anam Amin and middle-order batter Omaima Sohail are the two new entries in the list.

“I am pleased for both new entries, Omaima Sohail and Anam Amin. Omaima has been added after being a consistent member of the side in both formats while Anam has been outstanding with the ball in T20 cricket, being the highest wicket-taker in the domestic and joint-highest in the international circuit," Mumtaz claimed.

The PCB has additionally named an emerging contract list similar to the one created for the men's team. This nine-member list features the teenage duo of Syeda Aroob Shah and Ayesha Naseem, who were part of Pakistan's T20 World Cup squad.

Women’s central contract list 2020-21:

Category A - Bismah Maroof and Javeria Khan

Category B - Aliya Riaz, Diana Baig and Sidra Nawaz

Category C - Anam Amin, Nahida Khan, Nida Dar and Omaima Sohail.

Women’s emerging contract list 2020-21: Ayesha Naseem, Fatima Sana, Kainat Hafeez, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Najiha Alvi, Rameen Shamim, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal and Syeda Aroob Shah