Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
AB de Villiers returns as captain in three-team format to restart South African cricket
Cricket in COVID-19 Era

AB de Villiers returns as captain in three-team format to restart South African cricket

South Africa is set to have its first televised live sports event starting June 27 ever since the country went into a coronavirus-enforced lockdown.

The experimental format will see three teams contest a single 36-over match at Centurion's SuperSport Park as each team will face a total of 12 overs, split into two halves of six overs.

Each half will be against a different team's set of bowlers with the sides rotated from batting to bowling to the dugout based on a predetermined draw.

The match, which is scheduled to take place behind closed doors, will observe the last batsman being allowed to bat alone even after the loss of the seventh wicket and he can score only in even numbers.

A maximum of three overs per bowler is permitted across the 12 overs. The team with the most number of runs across two innings wins gold while the subsequent two teams will achieve silver and bronze.

AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock and Kagiso Rabada have been named captains of the three teams. The return of de Villiers for this exhibition clash is his first assignment in South African cricket after he expressed his desire to make an international comeback for the Proteas.


KG's Kingfishers: Kagiso Rabada (capt), Faf du Plessis, Chris Morris, Tabraiz Shamsi, Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Heinrich Klaasen, Glenton Stuurman

Quinny's Kites: Quinton de Kock (capt), David Miller, Temba Bavuma, Anrich Nortje, Dwayne Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Lutho Sipamla

AB's Eagles: AB de Villiers (capt), Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Andile, Phehlukwayo, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Kyle Verreynne, Sisanda Magala