Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow included in 24-man training group for Ireland ODIs
England News

Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow included in 24-man training group for Ireland ODIs

Moeen Ali and Jonny Bairstow have made a return to England's national set-up as they were named among the 24 players who would constitute England's training squad ahead of the three-match ODI series against Ireland.

Moeen and Bairstow were omitted from the Test squad for the first game against West Indies, which marks the resumption of international cricket following the coronavirus-induced hiatus.

England have opted for separate white-ball and red-ball squads in order to meet the requirements of the condensed cricket schedule.

The Ireland ODIs are expected to commence on July 30 with the final match taking place on August 4, a day before England's three-Test series against Pakistan starts.

The compressed sporting calendar means England will not be going into the Ireland clashes with regulars such as Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler.

"Even with several multi-format players unavailable for the Ireland ODIs due to their Test commitments, there is real depth to England's white-ball playing talent," national selector Ed Smith stated.

Paul Collingwood will take over the coaching duties for the series as he currently serves as the deputy to head coach Chris Silverwood. Marcus Trescothick has also been inducted into the backroom staff for the 50-over contests.

The ODI training group will partake in two intra-squad practice games before the selectors take a final call on the composition of the team.

England's home summer additionally sees them scheduled to play three T20Is against Pakistan next month and six limited-overs fixtures against Australia, which were originally planned for July.

England training squad

Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Tom Banton, Sam Billings (wk), Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Laurie Evans, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Sam Hain, Tom Helm, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey