Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shan Masood, Haris Sohail among captains named for National T20 Cup
Pakistan News

Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shan Masood, Haris Sohail among captains named for National T20 Cup

Former Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed will be back in the captaincy role for Sindh in this year's National T20 Cup, which will kick off the country's 2020-21 domestic season.

Sindh were previously led by Asad Shafiq during the 2019-20 edition of the tournament where they failed to advance to the semi-finals and came second-last.

Other captains selected by the coaches include Haris Sohail (Balochistan), Babar Azam (Central Punjab), Shan Masood (Southern Punjab), Mohammad Rizwan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and the title-winning Imad Wasim (Northern).

Northern defeated Balochistan by a massive margin of 52 runs in last year's final at Faisalabad to clinch the trophy.

Several international players will be appearing for the First XI National T20 Cup, which will be held in a double-league format for the first time. This arrangement has been introduced in order to prepare players for the 2021 T20 World Cup and provide them with enough opportunities ahead of the 2020 Pakistan Super League draft in November.

Babar, Imad and Shaheen Afridi will miss the first round of games in Multan as they are currently in England taking part in the Vitality T20 Blast competition. The trio will join their respective teams in the National T20 Cup for the second round matches commencing on October 9 in Rawalpindi.

The tournament will run from September 30 to October 18 with the matches divided between the Multan Cricket Stadium and the Pindi Cricket Stadium.

The notable omissions from the six line-ups include Ahmed Shehzad and Hasan Ali, both of whom were unavailable for selection due to injuries. Umar Akmal is also absent as he is serving his 18-month ban for failing to report corrupt approaches. Meanwhile, Salman Butt refused to play for Central Punjab's second XI side after being overlooked for the first XI team.

The captains appointed for the second XI sides are Sami Aslam (Balochistan), Nauman Anwar (Central Punjab), Fawad Alam (Sindh), Mehran Ibrahim (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Nauman Ali (Northern) and Naved Yasin (Southern Punjab).

The full details of the squads are as follows:


First XI – Haris Sohail (capt), Bismillah Khan (vice-capt), Akbar-ur-Rehman, Akif Javed, Ammad Butt, Awais Zia, Imam-ul-Haq, Imran Butt, Imran Farhat, Kashif Bhatti, Khurram Shahzad, Taimur Khan, Umaid Asif, Umar Gul, Usama Mir and Yasir Shah

Second XI – Sami Aslam (capt), Jalat Khan (vice-capt), Abdul Nasir, Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Akhtar Shah, Ayaz Tasawar, Gohar Faiz, Gulraiz Sadaf, Hayat Ullah, Mohammad Ibrahim, Mohammad Junaid Khan, Mohammad Talha, Najeebullah Achakzai, Rameez Raja Jnr, Salahuddin and Taj Wali

Central Punjab

First XI – Babar Azam (capt), Saad Nasim (vice-capt), Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Ahmed Bashir, Bilal Asif, Ehsan Adil, Faheem Ashraf, Irfan Khan Niazi, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Rizwan Hussain, Sohaibullah, Usman Qadir and Zafar Gohar.

Second XI – Nauman Anwar (capt), Raza Ali Dar (vice-capt), Atiq-ur-Rehman, Aitzaz Habib Khan, Bilawal Iqbal, Fahad Usman, Junaid Ali, Kamran Afzal, Muhammad Akhlaq, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Faiq, Mohammad Saad, Nisar Ahmad, Suleman Shafqat, Waqas Maqsood and Zubair Khan Lodhi

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

First XI – Mohammad Rizwan (capt), Junaid Khan (vice-capt), Arshad Iqbal, Asif Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imran Khan Snr, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Mohsin, Sahibzada Farhan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Usman Khan Shinwari, Wahab Riaz and Zohaib Khan

Second XI – Mehran Ibrahim (capt), Rehan Afridi (vice-capt), Adil Amin, Asad Afridi, Israrullah, Khalid Usman, Mohammad Amir Khan, Mohammad Arif Shah, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Mohammad Mohsin Khan, Mohammad Sarwar Afridi, Musaddiq Ahmad, Nabi Gul, Sajid Khan and Sameen Gul


First XI  Imad Wasim (capt), Shadab Khan (vice-capt), Ali Imran, Asif Ali, Farzan Raja, Haider Ali, Hammad Azam, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir, Sohail Akhtar, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Amin and Zeeshan Malik

Second XI – Nauman Ali (capt), Umair Masood (vice-capt), Aamer Jamal, Athar Mehmood, Faizan Riaz, Mohammad Ismail, Nasir Nawaz, Naved Malik, Nihal Mansoor, Raza Hasan, Salman Irshad, Sarmad Bhatti, Shiraz Khan, Shoaib Ahmad Minhas, Taimur Sultan and Zaid Alam


First XI – Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt), Saud Shakeel (vice-capt), Ahsan Ali, Anwar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Azam Khan, Danish Aziz, Hassan Khan, Khurram Manzoor, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Taha, Rumman Raees, Sharjeel Khan and Sohail Khan

Second XI – Fawad Alam (capt), Hasan Mohsin (vice-capt), Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Ali, Ammad Alam, Asad Raza, Ghulam Mudassar, Ibtisam Sheikh, Jahid Ali, Mohammad Suleman, Mohammad Umar, Rameez Aziz, Saad Ali, Saifullah Bangash, Shahnawaz and Omair Bin Yousuf

Southern Punjab

First XI – Shan Masood (capt), Hussain Talat (vice-capt), Aamir Yamin, Ali Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Rahat Ali (subject to fitness), Saif Baddar, Sohaib Maqsood, Umer Khan, Umar Siddiq Khan, Zahid Mehmood and Zeeshan Ashraf

Second XI – Naved Yasin (capt), Agha Salman Ali (vice-capt), Maqbool Ahmed, Ali Usman, Anus Mustafa, Dilbar Hussain, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Mohsin, Mohammad Rameez, Mohammad Umair, Mohammad Irfan Jnr, Mukhtar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, Zain Abbas and Zia-ul-Haq

#Pakistan Domestic Cricket#National T20 Cup 2020#Pakistan