Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard among 10 players to withdraw from Bangladesh tour
West Indies News

Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard among 10 players to withdraw from Bangladesh tour

West Indies Test captain Jason Holder and white-ball skipper Kieron Pollard are among the 10 players to have pulled out of the upcoming tour of Bangladesh citing concerns over the novel coronavirus.

West Indies are expected to play three ODIs and two Test matches in Chattogram and Dhaka from January 20 to February 15.

The other players to withdraw from the tour include Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer and Nicholas Pooran, forcing the selectors to pick depleted squads for the series.

To make matters worse for the touring side, Fabian Allen and Shane Dowrich have made themselves unavailable for the tour for personal reasons.

The trip to Bangladesh marks West Indies' third international tour since the resumption of top-flight cricket after the prolonged Covid-19 hiatus.

West Indies were the first side to kick-start international cricket when they played a three-match Test series in England during the summer behind closed doors.

Back then, Bravo, Hetmyer and Keemo Paul did not tour England due to concerns about the Covid-19 crisis.

In the absence of several key players, West Indies have handed a maiden Test call-up to Kavem Hodge while all-rounder Akeal Hosein and left-handed batsman Kjorn Ottley earned their first ODI call-ups.

Kraigg Brathwaite has been given the leadership duties for the Test side whereas Jason Mohammed will captain the ODI team.

“Although a number of the senior players are missing in both formats, I expect our teams to be very competitive,” said West Indies chief selector Roger Harper.

“I expect our players to play with purpose, with passion and with the desire to prove that they belong at this level.”

West Indies last visited Bangladesh in 2018 with Holder ruled out of the tour then as well owing to a shoulder injury. Rovman Powell was the ODI captain while Brathwaite led the Test side and Carlos Brathwaite captained the T20I unit.

Bangladesh completed a clean sweep in the two-match Test series and prevailed in the ODI encounters but faced defeat in the T20Is.

The Caribbean contingent is now scheduled to arrive in Dhaka on January 10 and will play one white-ball practice match and one red-ball warm-up game before the start of each series.

Test squad

Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer, Jomel Warrican

ODI squad

Jason Mohammed (capt), Sunil Ambris, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Andre McCarthy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr