Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Javeria Khan to lead Pakistan for South Africa tour in Bismah Maroof's absence
Pakistan Women Tour of South Africa

Javeria Khan to lead Pakistan for South Africa tour in Bismah Maroof's absence

Javeria Khan will captain Pakistan's 17-member squad for the ODI and T20I series in South Africa after Bismah Maroof pulled out of the tour owing to family reasons.

The six white-ball fixtures will take place from January 20 to February 3 and will be staged in Durban and Pietermaritzburg.

Ayesha Zafar, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan and Nashra Sandhu have been recalled into the national team for the series that marks their first international assignment since the 2020 World T20.

The squad has been announced by the Urooj Mumtaz-led selection committee following the conclusion of the 11-day training camp in Karachi and considers the standout performances in the National Triangular T20 Women's Cricket Championship.

Nahida was the leading run-getter in the domestic tournament with 154 runs at an average in excess of 51 across four innings. Ayesha has been given the nod for being the fourth-highest run-scorer in the competition.

All-rounder Kainat shone with both bat and ball, allowing her to be declared player of the tournament whereas Nashra was the joint-best bowler in the tri-series.

“The squad has been selected after closely observing the players in the recent High Performance and probables camps and the National Triangular T20 Women’s Cricket Championship," Urooj was quoted as saying in the PCB media release.

"We have seen significant improvement over the last three months in the intent and mindset of the players and the team is shaping up well for the upcoming series. The squad is well balanced and possesses a good blend of youth and experience for what promises to be an exciting tour.

“Javeria Khan is an experienced campaigner and has the desired understanding of the game which is necessary to lead the national women’s team. She has undertaken this responsibility in the past and I am certain she will rise to the occasion and inspire the players."

In the 2019 tour of South Africa, Pakistan were able to draw the ODI encounters 1-1 but lost the T20I series 3-2.

The first two ODIs of the upcoming tour will be played at Kingsmead Stadium, Durban before the teams move to Pietermaritzburg for one ODI and two T20Is. The final match of the tour will be hosted in Durban.

ODI and T20I squad

Javeria Khan (capt), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Syeda Aroob Shah