Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Hasan Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Imran Farhat among captains named for Pakistan Cup
Pakistan Cup

Hasan Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Imran Farhat among captains named for Pakistan Cup

Hasan Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Imran Farhat, Khalid Usman, Sohaib Maqsood and Saud Shakeel are the six captains confirmed for the Pakistan Cup One-Day Tournament scheduled to commence on January 8.

The 33-match competition begins just three days after the completion of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy as the 50-over event will be contested till January 31.

The games are set to be played on a double-league basis with three first-round games taking place simultaneously across the three Karachi venues – NBP Sports Complex, State Bank Stadium and UBL Sports Complex.

The six head coaches finalised their respective teams' 16-member squads on the eve of the tournament with an eye on giving chances to young cricketers who have excelled over the course of the 2020-21 domestic season.

18-year-old prodigy Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, uncapped List A cricketer Mubasir Khan and the in-form Khyber Pakhtunkhwa batsman Kamran Ghulam are some of the budding talents expected to showcase their talent on the competitive arena.

Former Pakistan opener Farhat will be leading previous edition's finalists Balochistan for one last time as he will bring curtains to his domestic career upon the tournament's conclusion.

Central Punjab's inspirational captain Hasan put on a spectacular display with both bat and ball throughout the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, eventually winning the player of the tournament prize. Hasan's resurgence as a capable all-round option adds depth to the CP line-up.

The Sohaib-led Southern Punjab boast Australian recruit Aaron Summers in their fast bowling department. Summers will be making history as the first foreign player to take the field for a team in PCB's revamped domestic set-up.

Some of the notable omissions from the squads include Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal. Both players have featured for Central Punjab in the past with Kamran venting his frustration regarding his non-selection on Twitter.

All Pakistan players part of the national side and the Shaheens team during the New Zealand tour have not been named in the squads because of quarantine restrictions and the quick turnaround for the South Africa series.


Balochistan: Imran Farhat (capt), Bismillah Khan (vice-capt), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Adnan Akmal, Akbar-ur-Rehman, Ali Rafiq, Awais Zia, Ayaz Tasawar, Gohar Faiz, Jalat Khan, Kashif Bhatti, Nazar Hussain, Raza-ul-Hasan, Taimoor Ali, Taj Wali, Umaid Asif

Central Punjab: Hasan Ali (capt), Ahmed Bashir, Ahmed Safi Abdullah, Ali Shan (wk), Ali Zaryab, Bilal Asif, Bilawal Iqbal, Muhammad Akhlaq, Mohammad Saad, Qasim Akram, Rizwan Hussain, Saad Nasim, Sohaibullah, Tayyab Tahir, Usman Salahuddin, Waqas Maqsood

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: Khalid Usman (capt), Fakhar Zaman (vice-capt), Adil Amin, Arshad Iqbal, Asif Afridi, Imran Khan Snr, Irfanullah Shah, Israrullah, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Mohsin, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Musadiq Ahmed, Rehan Afridi (wk), Sahibzada Farhan, Sajid Khan, Usman Shinwari

Northern: Mohammad Nawaz (capt), Aamer Jamal, Ali Imran, Asif Ali, Athar Mehmood, Faizan Riaz, Hammad Azam, Jamal Anwar, Mubasir Khan, Muhammad Ismail, Nasir Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Salman Irshad, Sohail Tanvir, Taimoor Sultan, Umar Amin

Sindh: Saud Shakeel (capt), Aaliyan Mahmood, Abrar Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Ghulam Mudassar, Hassan Khan, Khurram Manzoor, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Azam Khan, Mohammad Umar, Omair Bin Yousaf, Saad Ali, Shahnawaz Dhani, Sharjeel Khan

Southern Punjab: Sohaib Maqsood (capt), Salman Ali Agha (vice-capt), Aamer Yamin, Aaron Summers, Ali Shafiq, Mohammad Ilyas, Muhammad Imran, Mukhtar Ahmed, Rahat Ali, Saif Badar, Umar Khan, Umar Siddiq Khan, Waqar Hussain, Zahid Mahmood, Zain Abbas, Zeeshan Ashraf