Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Home
>
Stories
>
Butter asks for clarification on mankad law
England

Butter asks for clarification on mankad law

English wicket-keeper batsman Jos Buttler was mankaded for the second time in his career during a recent game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) as Kings XI Punjab skipper Ravichandran Ashwin got him out before delivering the ball.

After the controversial incident, the Rajasthan Royals (RR) player has broken his silence as he has asked for clarity regarding the law which is a grey area in the playing rules of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

“Of course, a Mankading has to be in the laws of the game, because a batsman can't just run halfway down the pitch trying to get a head start. But I do think, the way the law is written, there is a bit of a grey area in that saying, 'when a bowler is expected to release the ball'. That is a bit of a wishy-washy statement,” he added.

However, he did reveal that he was distracted for a couple of days after getting out in such a fashion especially at a stage when he was taking his side home.