Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
ECB announces World Cup squad, Archer misses out

ECB announces World Cup squad, Archer misses out

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced a preliminary squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. The 15-member squad does not include all-rounder Jofra Archer who was said to be a definite pick for the tournament

There have been quite a few surprises in the squad as Chris Jordan would not be seen in action during the World Cup this year while opener Joe Denly has gotten a surprise callup to play his first World Cup.

The squad includes Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood.

However, Archer would get a chance to make a case for himself in the series against Pakistan as well as Ireland since the announced squad could be modified at any stage before the main event.