Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Sri Lanka announces World Cup squad
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka announces World Cup squad

The Sri Lankan Cricket Board has announced the 15-member squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 which would be led by newly appointed skipper, Dimuth Karunaratne. The opener has been given the responsibility after Lasith Malinga failed to inspire the young lot of players.

The squad includes Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffery Vandersay, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeevan Mendis, and Milinda Siriwardana.

Experienced players including Dinesh Chandimal Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga and Akila Dananjaya have been left out of the squad while Milinda Siriwardana, Jeffrey Vandersay and Jeevan Mendis would be making a comeback in the mega event.

Moreover, a total of 4 players including Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Kasun Rajitha, and Wanindu Hasaranga have been placed on standby for the World Cup as well.