Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Afghanistan announces squad for World Cup 2019

Afghanistan announces squad for World Cup 2019

After various discussion sessions, Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has finally announced the 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 event which is set to be played in England and Wales from May 30.

Replacing Asghar Afghan, all-rounder Gulbadin Naib is all set to lead his nation in the forthcoming mega-event. Selectors are of the view that they have picked the best cricketers of the country who have the skill-set to pose a threat to the top sides in the 10-team tournament.

While there are many talented cricketers in the squad, major focus would be on the deadly spin trio of Afghanistan which consists of Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi. Afghanistan is to commence their World Cup campaign against Australia on June 1.

" Afghan squad consists of the following cricketers: "

Gulbadin Naib (captain), Mohammad Shahzad (wicket-keeper), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Hamid Hassan, Aftab Alam, Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran and Dawlat Zadran