The advancements in technology have made an umpire’s life easier and difficult at the same time as there is always someone who remains dissatisfied with the rectified call made after consultation with the third umpire.
One of the calmest captains of modern-day cricket, MS Dhoni recently lost his cool on the umpires when a clear no-ball call was not made at a crucial stage of the game between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) as he got into an argument with the umpires after rushing onto the field from the dugout.
Former International Cricket Council (ICC) umpire Simon Taufel has also given his two cents on the whole issue as he said that Dhoni crossed the line by walking onto the field.
“There is no reason for the batting captain to come onto the field and contest the decision or seek clarification while the match is in progress. In this case, Dhoni did cross the line,” he said.