Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Home
>
Stories
>
Imran Tahir’s fielding effort stirs controversy
South Africa

Imran Tahir’s fielding effort stirs controversy

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has been called out by the players and fans on numerous occasions in recent times as they have objected on the use of soft signal in cricket which lets the on-field umpire give his//her opinion on a referred decision.

In the recent game between Pakistan and South Africa, opener Fakhar Zaman thrashed a ball from Chris Morris to the deep square leg boundary where Imran Tahir dived forward to take a brilliant catch.

However, the on-field umpires were not convinced if the catch had really been taken or not, so they referred it to the 3rd umpire with the soft signal of not out. The TV umpire eventually gave it not out as the replays did not provide any conclusive evidence for overruling the soft signal.

The decision of the 3rd umpire did not please the South African team at all as skipper Faf du Plessis argued with the umpire for a while in order to get an explanation.