The umpiring standards in the ongoing ICC World Cup have not been up to the standard as they are subjected to criticism and now Rohit Sharma’s controversial lbw decision against West Indies has sparked another controversy. Earlier, Michael Holding had also questioned the standards of umpiring in the World Cup.
While it seemed from the visuals that the ball might have hit the Rohit Sharma’s pads, the third umpire overturned the on-field decision to give it out and the Indian opener was visibly shocked. In response to the weird decision, the Indian opener took to social media to express his disappointment.
In a close-up picture of his dismissal on his official Twitter page, it is clearly seen that there was a significant gap between the bat and ball. The picture posted by Rohit indicates that the ball clipped his right pad instead of the bat.