Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Former World Cup winners to hand over trophy this year
International Cricket Council (ICC)

Former World Cup winners to hand over trophy this year

The International Cricket Council (ICC) might go against the usual norm this time and invite former World Cup winners to hand over the trophy on July 14th. Historically, the ICC chairman gives the World Cup trophy to the winning captain, but Shashank Manohar might not get a chance to do so this year.

According to several media reports, the ICC might try to avoid any controversy this year by inviting a former cricketer to do the honors as the cricket world saw a huge controversy when Shashank gave away the trophy instead of chairman of that time Mustafa Kamal after the 2015 World Cup.

A Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) insider has revealed that several groups in the ICC want Sachin Tendulkar to present the trophy this time while others want the winner of last World Cup, Michael Clarke to do the deed but the final decision would be taken after the approval from the Buckingham Palace.