Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
The under-performing XI of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The under-performing XI of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 featured some unbelievable performances by some of the best players in the world as many proved their mettle at the biggest stage in cricket while some star players were quite below par as well as they could not contribute to their teams much.

Looking at the overall performance and the impact of those players on match results, here is the under-performing XI of this year’s World Cup. The two openers who disappointed massively were Pakistan’s Fakhar Zaman and New Zealand’s Martin Guptill as they both failed to play a substantial role with the bat which ultimately put pressure on the respective middle orders.

Tom Latham also had a disappointing tournament for New Zealand as could not perform well at the top, being a conventional middle order batsman. Moreover, Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik had a poor farewell from international cricket as he failed to cross the single digits even once during the tournament.

Pakistani skipper Sarfraz Ahmed might have had a great tournament with the gloves but his performance with the bat let the team down on more than one occasions, hence he would be the captain of this team.

All-rounders specifically did not enjoy much success in the World Cup this year as Moeen Ali, failed miserably with the bat for England while Marcus Stoinis, and Shadab Khan were quite mediocre with the ball and bat alike.

Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza lead his team brilliantly this year but his personal performances did not help the team much as he struggled to take wickets throughout. Former world number 1 bowlers, Hasan Ali and Rashid Khan were taken to the cleaners in this year’s World Cup and seemed rather innocuous which is why they also feature in this team.


Fakhar Zaman

Martin Guptill

Tom Latham

Marcus Stoinis

Sarfraz Ahmed

Shoaib Malik

Moeen Ali

Shadab Khan

Hasan Ali

Mashrafe Mortaza

Rashid Khan