Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Home
>
Stories
>
Dharmasena accepts his erroneous judgement
ICC World Cup 2019

Dharmasena accepts his erroneous judgement

When umpire Kumar Dharmasena signaled six runs off the fourth ball in England’s last over of their World Cup final run chase, there ensued a raging controversy over the validity of his call. England was in dire need of a miracle to win the World Cup and the ball went to a boundary after deflecting off Ben Stokes’ bat.

After one week after the World Cup final, Dharmasena admitted that there was a judgmental error as England were awarded six runs from an overthrow. However, he also said that he will never “regret” the decision, which turned out to be a turning point in the match.

"I agree that there was a judgmental error when I see it on TV replays now. But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I will never regret the decision I made. Besides, the ICC praised me for the decision I made at that time,” Dharmasena said.