Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Everything you need to know about Test Championship

Everything you need to know about Test Championship

The much-awaited World Test Championship (WTC) is all set to kick-start with the first Ashes Test between England and Australia at Edgbaston on August 1. The inaugural edition of the WTC has left people with a lot of doubts and majority of the cricket fans are not familiar with the format of Championship.

The top nine ranked teams will play against each other in this two-year-long tournament. In the end, the top two teams will take on each other in the final. The participating teams are Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Bangladesh. Afghanistan, Ireland and Zimbabwe will not be featured in this tournament.

The first WTC will run for around two years, culminating in the final on June 2021 in England, which is set to be played at Lord’s. In the Championship, the teams will play six series each — three at home and three away — against mutually chosen opponents over the two-year cycle.

In each series, a total of 120 points will be up for grabs and distributed based on how many matches are played in each series. Hence, a Test played as part of a two-Test series will be worth 60 points and a Test played in a five-match series is worth 24 points. A team can score a maximum of 720 points during this cycle.