Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
BBL to witness a new play-offs mechanism
Big Bash League (BBL)

BBL to witness a new play-offs mechanism

After the release of schedule for 2019-20 edition of the Big Bash League (BBL), the authorities decided to thrill fans by releasing a new mechanism for the play-offs of the competition. This procedure will see five teams in race to make it to the final of the domestic championship.

While the qualifier of the top two teams would install one of the units in the final, the losing team along with one finishing on third will have more opportunities to get back in the final. The Eliminator will be played including teams finishing on fourth and fifth position during the league stage of the event.   

The winner of The Eliminator would lock horns with third placed unit in a game called The Knock-out. This will put the winning team into The Challenger where the loser of the qualifier will await the winner of The Knock-out. Finally, The Knock-out’s winner will seal a place in the final of the 20-over tournament. While this mechanism looks a bit confusing, but the motive is to allow more teams to have a crack at the trophy, thus augmenting the competitiveness.