Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Home
>
Stories
>
ICC justifies Dharmasena's WC final error
England

ICC justifies Dharmasena's WC final error

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has supported umpire Kumar Dharmasena for his controversial overthrow call in the World Cup final against New Zealand. Dharmasena had signaled six runs for a deflection of Ben Stokes’ bat which caused the ball to reach the boundary line when instead England should have been awarded five runs as the two batsmen had not crossed for the second run.

The former Sri Lankan all-rounder admitted to his mistake in the aftermath of the mega-tournament. ICC General Manager of Cricket, Geoff Allardice has, nevertheless, defended Dharmasena amidst the backlash. He declared the two on-field umpires had followed due process and the context of the match did not allow them to refer the decision upstairs.

“After everything that went on during that delivery, they got together over their commentary system and made their decision. They certainly followed the right process when making the decision,” Allardice said to a cricket publication.