Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
New Zealand announces Test squad against Sri Lanka
New Zealand

New Zealand announces Test squad against Sri Lanka

For the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka, New Zealand have announced a 15-man Test squad. This tour will resume cricketing action for Kiwis after a heart-breaking defeat in the final of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 tournament where New Zealand lost the contest on a boundary countback rule after both 50-over game and the super over ended up in a tie.

Using England’s blueprint of success in spin-friendly conditions of Sri Lanka, New Zealand Cricket Board have roped in four frontline spinners. Prolific batsman Kane Williamson will continue to lead the Blackcaps. First Test match, commencing from August 14, will be played in Galle with second game scheduled at Colombo. After that, the two teams will engage in a three-match T20I series starting from August 6.

The squad consists of following names:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Todd Astle, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wicket-keeper), Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Jeet Raval, Ajaz Patel, Mitchell Santner and Will Somerville.