Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Pakistan Cricket Board’s new constitution comes into effect

Pakistan Cricket Board’s new constitution comes into effect

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has disclosed its new constitution with the revamped structure on August 21, 2019. The new constitution came into the effect after the approval from the cabinet. The Pakistan Cricket Board received notification from the Ministry of IPC, confirming the Cabinet division’s approval of the new PCB Constitution. Here is everything you need to know about the new constitution.

The salient features of the constitution are as follow:


The previous BoG members included the chairman of PCB Mr. Ehsan Mani, one Patron’s Nominee, 4 Independent members, and 3 Presidents of Cricket Associations. However, there are slight amendments in the new body of BoG which will now include 2 Patron-in-Chief's (Prime Minister Imran Khan) nominee and at least one female member in the Independent group.


1.       Balochistan Cricket Association

2.       Central Punjab Cricket Association

3.       Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Cricket Association

4.       Northern Cricket Association

5.       Sindh Cricket Association

6.       Southern Punjab Cricket Association

This is indubitably the most prominent point of the new constitution which has exempted the Regional Cricket Associations from the structure, bringing in Six major Cricket Associations into play. This step has been taken to prefer the quality over quantity and making the competition tougher than ever before. PCB will conduct First-Class, List-A, and T20 tournaments between these cricket associations and the top-performers from the respective formats will make their way to the International circuit.


This is another solid step taken which will allow the cricket to dig deeper into the individual cities of the country more effectively than before. This new constitution will penetrate the cricket competitions in the cities of Pakistan hence exposing them to the subtler framework of the game. Earlier, these tournaments were held on the District level which covered vast areas in a particular zone. Moreover, the City Cricket Associations will also indulge cricket tournaments at the school level which will provide the young and exciting talent with a great opportunity to showcase their skills.


Cricket Associations will be sharing more responsibility and providing a forum for City Cricket Associations to pursue better and effective regulations and governance of cricket within their respective jurisdiction. Hence, the six Cricket Associations will have more authority in the structure. City Cricket Associations will work under these major six associations under the specific rules and regulations.


1.       PCB Chairman

2.       President of each Cricket Association (Six Associations)

3.       President of Blind Cricket Association

4.       President of Deaf and Dumb Cricket Association

5.       Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer are the ex-officio (non-voting) members

The General Body of PCB which has few salient roles in the structure shall consist of the above-mentioned members.


In the previous constitution of Pakistan Cricket Board, Under the Article 13* the Chief Executive was designated as the Managing Director of the PCB. But in this newly revamped constitution the Managing Director is re-designated as the Chief Executive. (Wasim Khan is currently working as the Managing Director of PCB).


Pakistan Cricket Board’s new constitution also aims to ameliorate the management inside the Board as a well. These added points will enhance the governance inside the PCB and will minimize the rifts and discrepancies created in the departments. The ethical culture in the board will assure that the rules of the department and the respect of the co-members are observed in every case. The Remuneration Committee will help the board to manage the finance in more adequate way and the Risk Management committee will also solve the respective problems.



The Clause 49 comprises of all the amendments that has been made from the previous constitution to the new one. This Clause 49 consists of all the points mentioned above.