Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Jadeja, Yadav to get Arjuna Awards

Jadeja, Yadav to get Arjuna Awards

India’s cricketers Ravindra Jadeja and Poonam Yadav are all set to receive the Arjuna Awards as a recognition of their sparkling achievements in cricket. This honor which is being given for the preceding four-year period will bestow both cricketers with a bronze statue of Arjuna, a scroll, and a cash prize.

Started in 1961, Arjuna Awards are given by Indian Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to recognize the brilliant sporting achievements. Poonam Yadav currently sits as the leading wicket-taker for Indian Women team in T20Is and for this reason, she has grabbed the third position of Women’s T20I bowling rankings.

On the other hand, Ravindra Jadeja has landed himself close to a brilliant milestone of 1500 Test runs and 200 Test wickets. Should he do it in the ongoing Test against West Indies, that will make him only one of the five players to have a combination of a batting average in excess of 30 and bowling average under it. Other proud recipients of these awards include current skipper Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid.