After six months of the World Cup 2019 final’s heartbreak, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson finally broke his silence. The tactical skipper believes that deciding the result of such an epic contest on the basis of the boundary countback rule was ‘not really cricket’.
Kane said that no one ever thought that a result would be decided like that, but it happened. This also brought forward many concerns, which were later dealt as the rule was removed. However, by then, New Zealand paid a heavy price. While the 29-year old was hurt by the decision, but he acted like a proper gentleman as he highlighted that the rules were in place before the tournament, so he has no regrets.
“It’s not really cricket and I think both teams appreciated that. It was hard to take, but then again, the rules were already in place. It’s no surprise that it got changed later. Nevertheless, it was a fantastic game to be a part of – a contest all of us thoroughly enjoyed,” Kane Williamson said while sharing his views on the high-voltage final against England.