Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
New Zealand wins “Spirit of Cricket Award”
New Zealand

New Zealand wins “Spirit of Cricket Award”

New Zealand cricket, who has been one of the most loved cricket teams in 2019, has been awarded the Christopher Martin-Jenkins spirit award of the cricket award. Kane Williamson and his men are awarded the prestigious title considering their show of humility in the aftermath of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 final at Lords.

New Zealand team epitomized the principles of playing fair despite they lost the match on just boundary count. The award, created in 2013 by the MCC and the BBC in memory of the broadcasting great, is presented annually to the player or team that has best displayed the fair game.

Kumar Sangakkara, the MCC president, said New Zealand were "worthy winners" of the award. In the heat of battle, they displayed a level of sportsmanship that was fitting for such a fantastic finale, and indeed tournament.

"It is a testament to their squad that even after a match that will live long in the memory for the cricket that was played, we are still talking about the Spirit of Cricket. Their actions deserve this recognition.", he added.