Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Hafeez, Ajmal and Hasan rule the 2010s decade
Indo Pak Dominance

Hafeez, Ajmal and Hasan rule the 2010s decade

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently published a review, looking back at the top bowlers of the decade at the end of the year 2019. Focusing on the top-ranked bowlers in each year, it was thus surprising to witness the fact that the list was dominated by Pakistani bowlers.

In a decade where batsmen have arguably had the upper hand given the dominance of T20 cricket, the Pakistani trio of Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal and Hasan Ali has stood out with their consistent heroics in ODIs. The 10-year list for ODIs shows Pakistani bowlers have excelled more than any other nation’s cricketers.

The decade began with Daniel Vettori being ranked No. 1 in the 50-over format before Ajmal overtook him and ruled the roster in 2011 and 2013. In between, Hafeez also was occupied the top position in 2012 with his wily off-spin. Later, Hasan reaped rewards for his impeccable run in the 2017 Champions Trophy and finished the year as the No. 1 bowler.