Matt Renshaw pulled off a spectacular catch on the boundary rope during the Big Bash League clash between Hobart Hurricanes and Brisbane Heat. While his dynamic effort trying to keep the ball in the field of play was commended by everyone, Renshaw’s grab has drawn controversy.
Renshaw had caught a powerful hit from Matthew Wade right on the boundary fence before releasing the ball while he tripped over the line. He then leapt in the air and lobbed the ball back to fellow teammate Tom Banton, who completed the catch inside the field.
Renshaw’s antics initially were not accepted by the third umpire as he ruled it not out. However, several replays later, his catch was allowed in accordance with the laws of the game but the cricketing rules themselves have also been called into question.
"I was just worried about where the rope was and trying to keep it in. I was trying to pass it to myself and luckily Banton was over there ready to catch it as well. Just tried to play the whistle and keep the ball up and made sure I was in the air. But there was a fair bit of luck I reckon.”- Renshaw later commented.