Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
New Zealand opts for fresh blood pace attack in India ODIs
New Zealand vs Pakistan 2020

New Zealand opts for fresh blood pace attack in India ODIs

After back-to-back defeats against India, New Zealand was expected to come hard in the Hamilton T20I to save the series. It did happen as the game went right down to the super over before Rohit Sharma’s consecutive sixes dismantled all the Kiwis’ hopes of winning the five-game series. Nevertheless, they still have the ODI series in hand where they can do well to avenge the defeat in T20Is.

For the forthcoming three-game ODI series, New Zealand cricket has announced their squad which contains fresh blood to form their pace attack. Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry, the trio which wreaked havoc in World Cup 2019 semi-final against the men in blue by sharing 7 wickets among them, will not be seen making any appearance in the ODI series as all of them sit injured.

Hamish Bennett and Scott Kuggeleijn have been recalled to the ODI series, while Kyle Jamieson got a reward for a strong domestic show. Colin Munro got dropped from the team, but Tom Latham made it to the side after passing the fitness test. The three-match series will commence on February 5 in Auckland.

New Zealand’s squad consists of the following names:

Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Tim Southee, James Neesham, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (game one only), Tom Blundell, Hamish Bennet, Colin de Grandhomme, Scott Kuggeleijn and Kyle Jamieson