Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Sri Lankan Cricket Team announces the Test squad against England
Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan Cricket Team announces the Test squad against England

The Islanders, with a hope of progressing their way into the ICC World Test Championship, is all set to take on England in a Test match series. Sri Lanka has announced the name of 16 players which will be in action against England in the 2-match Test series starting from 19th March.

The wrist-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga has been named in the squad despite uncertainty looming over his fitness. The left-handed batsman Lahiru Thirimanne is also dropped from the Sri Lankan Test side. Kusal Perera, who recently played one of the best Test knocks ever seen, has also been recalled to the side following clearance on his finger injury.

Sri Lanka has opted for quite a different side from the one that featured against England in the late 2018. 8 out of 15 currently announced players were present in that series. The 2nd Test match of the series will be played at Colombo on 27th March 2020.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lakshan Sandakan, Wanindu Hasaranga.